Profile

stefan-03-430x320px
The first time I was on a motorbike my dad had to hold me, otherwise I would have probably fallen off. I was four at the time – on a HONDA QR50 Cross Pocket Bike – and I remember at first I was afraid of the immense roar of the engine. I am happy to say that I can complete the laps on my own now in the MotoGP class, without my dad having to hold me on the bike. Nonetheless, in addition to all my great fans, my dad and the rest of my family constitute the biggest support I could ever ask for.

Stefan Bradl – the person.

Stefan is a cheeky Bavarian through and through. Born on the 29th November 1989, as the son of Gisela and Helmut Bradl in the quiet town of Augsburg in southern Germany, Stefan still lives there today. He spent the duration of his school life in Augsburg – sitting in the back row so his teachers wouldn’t notice Stefan doing what he liked to do during most the day: dream about racing!

Contradicting his efforts today, as a pupil Stefan only did what was necessary and never more. Result: German and English super – math, well… let’s move on. But even his modest math skills did not stop Stefan from making it into the MotoGP; to do what he had always dreamt of as a boy: win races.

Above all, Stefan loves his mom’s Bavarian cooking – but never says no to pizza and pasta variations. On his playlist you will find bands such as U2, Nickelback, Red Hot Chili Peppers and Linkin Park. He is a big James Bond fan and fancies a game of Gran Turismo 5 and of course his favourite, MotoGP on Playstation!

Stefan Bradl – the racer

stefan-02-430x320px
The love for racing that runs through Stefan’s’ veins is inherited from his father. From the late 80‘s to the early 90‘s, Helmut Bradl belonged to some of Germany‘s best motorbike riders. As his son, Stefan finished his first 3 Grand-Prix rounds in 2005 as a wildcard rider. In 2006, he finally celebrated his debut in the 125-cc class.

From then on, things really took off. Despite a severe broken leg at the end of the warm-up session for the race in Malaysia, Stefan was placed on a factory bike in the 125-cc class by Honda for the 2007 season. After many test kilometers, Stefan decided, for personal reasons, against the Honda factory machine – he would instead start in the Spanish National Championship, and win it. Thanks to this success and thanks to the Aprilia Team, Stefan was given the chance of a wildcard entry for the world championship.

2008 Stefan joined the Kiefer Racing Team. The outcome: two wins, six podium finishes, and a strong fourth place finish at the end of the season. The expectations increased for the 2009 season, but because of bad luck, Stefan was unfortunately not able to meet them. Stefan finished the season with a disappointing 10th place.

2010 the Moto2 series was introduced. Stefan and the Kiefer Racing Team directly stepped up into this higher class. Thanks to Stefan‘s consistency and his ability to keep a cool head, the 2011 season was a great success. He started the first five races from pole-position, brought in 11 podium finishes and four wins, making Stefan the first German World Champion since Dirk Raudies – and the youngest of all time.

After the last race of the season, Stefan was allowed – as fresh Moto2 World Champion – to test the LCR Honda RC212V on the Valencia race course. He impressed the team owner, Lucio Cecchinelo, so much that he took Stefan under contract for the MotoGP premier class.

2014 Stefan joined the NGM Forward Racing Team. Giovanni Cuzari, owner of the Team, is glad to welcome him in his team. Forward Racing believes that “Stephan is a strong driver” and is, together with Stefan, looking forward to the upcoming Saison 2015.

The first German Motorbike World Champion in more than 15 years

stefan-01-430x320px
2005 – Initial experience in the Grand Prix circus in the 125-cc class as a wildcard racer.

2006 – Debut in the 125-cc class as a serious racer.

2008 – Stefan Bradl joins the Kiefer Racing Team. With two wins and 6 podium finishes, he completes the season with a strong fourth place finish.

2009 – Stefan finishes the season in tenth place and therefore fails in the battle for the title.

2010 – Introduction of the Moto2 format. Stefan and Kiefer Racing step up into this class, and with 11 podium finishes, 4 wins and only one fall, Stefan was directly crowned champion. Stefan is therefore not only the first German who has won a world championship since 1993 – he is also the youngest German rider to win a world championship.

2011 – As a reward for his consistency and good performance, Stefan gets the opportunity to test the LCR Honda RC212V in Valencia. The outcome: Lucio Cecchinello, from the Italian team LCR Honda, takes Stefan under contract in the premier class without hesitation.

2012 – After a weak qualifying, Stefan impresses with a strong fifth place finish in rainy conditions in LeMans. Stefan’s highlight, and probably strongest race of 2012, would take place in Mugello, with a fourth place finish and an impressive battle for a spot on the podium. With his home crowd behind him, Stefan manages to withstand the pressure of a strong Valentino Rossi just a few weeks later on the Sachsenring: “That was awesome!”

Profil

stefan-03-430x320px
Als ich das erste Mal Motorrad gefahren bin, musste mich mein Papa noch am Rücken stützen, sonst wäre ich wahrscheinlich hinten runtergefallen. Vier war ich damals, es war ein Honda QR50 Cross Pocket Motorrad – und ich weiß noch, ich hatte tierische Angst vorm Dröhnen des Motors. Heute in der MotoGP Klasse kann ich zum Glück ganz alleine meine Runden drehen. Neben meinen tollen Fans sind aber mein Papa und die ganze Familie immer noch die größte Unterstützung für mich.

Stefan Bradl – der Mensch.

Stefan ist ein bayrischer Lausbub durch und durch. Am 29. November 1989 als Sohn von Gisela und Helmut Bradl in Augsburg geboren, lebt er heute noch immer in der beschaulichen Stadt im Süden Deutschlands. Hier hat er auch seine gesamte Schulzeit verbracht – am liebsten übrigens in der letzten Reihe, damit seine Lehrer nicht so ganz genau mitbekamen, was Stefan während des Unterrichts am liebsten machte: vom Rennfahren träumen.

Ganz im Gegensatz zu heute hat Stefan als Schüler immer nur genau das getan was nötig war, nie aber mehr. Ergebnis: Deutsch und Englisch super – Mathe naja. Doch auch seine bescheidenen Mathematikkenntnisse konnten Stefan nicht davon abhalten, es bis in die MotoGP zu schaffen, um das zu tun, wovon er schon als kleiner Bub geträumt hatte: Rennen zu gewinnen.

Stefan liebt die bayrische Küche seiner Mama über alles – aber auch Pasta und Pizza in allen Varianten. Auf seiner Playlist finden sich Bands wie U2, Nickelback, Red Hot Chili Peppers und Linkin Park, er ist großer James Bond Fan und zockt auf der Playstation am liebsten Gran Turismo 5 und natürlich motogp!

Stefan Bradl – der Rennfahrer

stefan-02-430x320px
Das Rennfahrerblut hat Stefan eindeutig von seinem Papa geerbt. Helmut Bradl gehörte Ende der 80er und Anfang der 90er Jahre zu Deutschlands besten Motorradrennfahrern. Als sein Sohn bestritt Stefan 2005 mit einer Wildcard seiner ersten 3 Grand-Prix Runden. 2006 feierte er dann endgültig sein Debüt in der 125-ccm Klasse.

Von da an ging es steil bergauf. Trotz eines schweren Beinbruchs am Ende der Warm-Up Session für das Rennen in Malaysia wurde Stefan von Honda für die Saison 2007 auf eine Werksmaschine in der 125-ccm Klasse gefixed. Nach zahlreichen Testkilometern entscheid sich Stefan aus persönlichen Gründen dann doch gegen die Honda Werksmaschine – um stattdessen 2007 in der spanischen Nationalmeisterschaft zu starten und dieses als Sieger zu beenden. Durch diesen Erfolg bekam Stefan vom Blusens Aprilia Team die Chance mit einer Wildcard Weltmeisterschaftsluft zu schnuppern. 2008 schloss sich Stefan dann dem Kiefer Racing Team an. Ergebnis: zwei Siege, sechs Podiumsplätze und vierter in der Gesamtwertung. Die gestiegenen Erwartungen für die Saison 2009 in der 125-ccm-Klasse konnte Stefan durch viel Pech leider nicht ganz erfüllen. In der Endabrechnung landete er auf einem für seine eigenen Ansprüche enttäuschenden Platz 10.

2010 wurde die Moto2 Serie neu eingeführt. Stefan und das Kiefer Racing Team stiegen 2011 dann direkt in diese höhere Klasse auf. Dank Stefans Beständigkeit und seines kühlen Kopfes wurde diese Saison zu einer sehr erfolgreichen. Fünfmal Pole in den ersten fünf Rennen, 11 Podiumsplätze und vier Siege machten Stefan 2011 zum ersten deutschen Weltmeister seit Dirk Raudies – und zum jüngsten aller Zeiten.

Nach dem letzten Rennen der Saison durfte Stefan, als frischgebackener Moto2 Weltmeister, die LCR Honda RC212V auf der Strecke von Valencia testen. Dabei hat er den Teameigner Lucio Cecchinello so nachhaltig beindruckt, das dieser ihn vom Fleck weg für die MotoGP Königsklasse unter Vertrag genommen hat.

Seit 2014 fährt Stefan für das NGM Forward Racing Team. Giovanni Cuzari, Besitzer des Teams, hieß ihn mit großer Freude in seinem Team willkommen. Das Team glaubt, dass „Stefan ein starker Fahrer ist“ und freut sich zusammen mit Stefan auf die Saison 2015. 

Der erste deutsche Motorradweltmeister seit mehr als 15 Jahren

stefan-01-430x320px
2005 – Erste Erfahrungen im Grand Prix Zirkus in der 125-ccm Klasse als Wildcard Fahrer.

2006 – Debüt in der 125-ccm Klasse als gesetzter Fahrer.

2008 – Stefan Bradl schließt sich dem Kiefer Racing Team an. Mit zwei Siegen und sechs Podiumsplätzen wird er Vierter in der Gesamtwertung.

2009 – Stefan beendet die Saison als Zehnter und scheitert damit im Kampf um den Titel.

2010/11 – Einführung des Moto2 Formats. Stefan und Kiefer Racing steigen in diese Klasse auf und werden mit 11 Podiumsplätzen, 4 Siegen und nur einen Sturz sofort Weltmeister. Damit ist Stefan nicht nur der erste Deutsche, der seit 1993 einen Weltmeisterschaftstitel geholt hat – er ist auch der jüngste deutsche Fahrer, der je eine Weltmeisterschaft für sich entscheiden konnte.

2011/12 – Als Belohnung für kontinuierliche gute Leistungen bekommt Stefan die Möglichkeit, die LCR Honda RC212V in Valencia zu Testen. Ergebnis: Lucio Cecchinello vom italienischen Team LCR Honda nimmt ihn kurzerhand für 2 Jahre in der Königsklasse unter Vertrag.